mseducation2008

Just another WordPress.com site

Kinds of Sentences According to Structure (demo outline)

on March 11, 2012
  • After knowing the meaning of sentence and the parts of it, let us know the different kinds of sentences according to structure. But before we proceed, let’s discuss first the clauses.

 

v  What are clauses?

Student: Clauses has subject and predicate, and it can be independent or dependent.

 

v  What is independent clause?

Student:  An independent clause consists of a subject and a predicate and has a complete thought.

 

v  So a sentence itself is an independent clause.

Examples:

My favorite dish is Chicken and Rice.
Jessica was born on May 14th, 2008.

 

v  What is dependent clause?

Student: A dependent clause has a subject and predicate but do not express a complete thought.

 

Examples:
during the Japanese occupation
while she was crying

 

  • We discuss first the clauses because is takes an important part in the different structures of sentences.

 

v  What are the different kinds of sentences according to structure?

Student: The different kinds of sentences according to structure are simple, compound, complex, compound-complex sentence.

 

v  What is simple sentence?

Student: A simple sentence contains one independent clause.

 

v  And example?

Student: He wants to write a poem for his friend. 

 

  • Discussion:

Simple sentence

 

A simple sentence is a sentence structure that contains one independent clause and no dependent clauses.

Examples

1. The singer bowed. (This simple sentence has one independent clause which contains one subject, singer, and one predicate, bowed.)

 

2. The baby cried. (This simple sentence has one independent clause which contains one subject, baby, and one predicate, cried.)

 

3. The girl ran into her bedroom. (This simple sentence has one independent clause which contains one subject, girl, and one predicate, ran into her bedroom

 

 

v  What is compound sentence?

Student: A compound sentence contains two or more independent clause.

 

v  And example?

Student: The guys are playing basketball and the girls are playing tennis.

 

  • Discussion:

Compound sentence

 

A compound sentence is composed of at least two independent clauses. It does not require a dependent clause. The clauses are joined by a coordinating conjunction (with or without a comma), a correlative conjunction (with or without a comma), or a semicolon that functions as a conjunction.

 

Examples

1. Jack wanted to go swimming, but his wife wanted to go shopping.

2. Her son studies History; her daughter majors in Chemistry.

 

v  What is complex sentence?

Student: A complex sentence contains one independent clause and one or more dependent clauses.

 

v  And example?

Student: Although she is not very pretty, she is smart.

 

  • Discussion:

Complex sentence

 

A complex sentence is a sentence with an independent clause and at least one dependent clause (subordinating clause). The dependent clause is introduced by either a subordinate conjunction such as although, or because or a relative pronoun such as who or which.

Examples

  1. 1.      When I saw what you had done, I was sad. (Independent clause: I was sad, Dependent clauses: When I saw  and what you had done)

 

  1. 2.      The worksheet is where you have put it. (Independent clause: The worksheet is, Dependent clause: where you have put it)

 

v  What is compound-complex sentence?

Student: A compound-complex sentence contains two or more independent clauses and one or more dependent clauses.

v  And example?

Student:  I like the guy that I met recently, but he already has a girlfriend.

 

  • Discussion:

Complex – Compound sentences

 

A sentence with at least  two independent clauses and one or more dependent clauses (which can also be called subordinate clause) are referred to as a complex-compound sentence. It is sometimes called a compound-complex sentence.

 

Examples

  1. 1.      The cat lived in the backyard, but the dog, who knew he wassuperior, lived inside the house. (Independent clauses: The cat lived in the backyard. The dog lived inside the house. Dependent clause: who knew he was superior) 

 

  1. 2.      Though the movie had been tested on the market, The Last Shadow did not fare well in the United States, but it did develop a huge following in Europe, which usually does notgo for this movie genre. (Independent clauses: The Last Shadow did not fare well in the United States. It did develop a huge following in Europe. Dependent clauses: though the movie had been tested on the market, which usually does not go for this movie genre

 

  1. 3.      Gene thought that Finny wanted venerability, but Finny, who did not care, thought that he was just being a friend. (Independent clauses: Gene thought that Finny wanted venerability.  Finny thought that he was just being a friend. Dependent clause: who did not care)

 

 

 

Exercise:

Determine the kind of the sentences in this article.

I decide to water my garden.
As I turn on the hose in the driveway, I look over at my car and decide it needs washing.
As I head towards the garage, I notice mail on the porch table that I picked up from the postman earlier.
I decide to go through the mail before I wash the car.
I lay my car keys on the table, put the junk mail in the recycling box under the table, and notice that the recycling box is full.
So, I decide to put the bills back on the table and take out the recycling first.
But then I think, since I’m going to be near the postbox when I take out the recycling paper anyway, I may as well pay the bills first.
I take my chequebook off the table, and notice that there is only one cheque left.
My extra cheques are in my desk in the study, so I go inside the house to my desk where I find the cup of coffee I’d been drinking.
I’m going to look for my cheques, but first I need to push the coffee aside so that I don’t accidentally knock it over.
The coffee is getting cold, and I decide to make another cup.
As I head toward the kitchen with the cold coffee, a vase of flowers on the worktop catches my eye – the flowers need water.
I put the coffee on the worktop and discover my reading glasses that I’ve been searching for all morning.
I decide I better put them back on my desk, but first I’m going to water the flowers.
I put the glasses back down on the worktop, fill a container with water and suddenly spot the TV remote control. Someone left it on the kitchen table.
I realise that tonight when we go to watch TV, I’ll be looking for the remote, but I won’t remember that it’s on the kitchen table, so I decide to put it back where it belongs, but first I’ll water the flowers.
I pour some water in the flowers, but quite a bit of it spills on the floor.
So, I put the remote back on the table, get some towels and wipe up the spill.
Then, I head down the hall trying to remember what I was planning to do.

-       http://www.batchmates.com/bmtimes/content.aspx?contentId=2013

 

 

 

QUIZ

Kinds of Sentences According to Form Quiz

 

Top of Form

Instructions: Identify the sentence according to form.

  1. Although she is pretty, she is cruel.

 

  1. complex
  2. compound
  3. simple

 

  1. I knocked, but you didn’t open the door.

 

  1. simple
  2. compound
  3. compound-complex

 

  1. He was able to carry the heavy bag.

 

  1. simple
  2. complex
  3. compound

 

  1. I like the dress that you are selling, but I’m broke.

 

  1. compound
  2. complex
  3. compound-complex

 

ANSWERS:

  1. A
  2. B
  3. A
  4. C
4 responses to “Kinds of Sentences According to Structure (demo outline)

  1. madali lang yan . !! hahaha ,,
    buti na lang tapos na ako XDDDDDDDDDD
    hu’h .. :p

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

